Animation movies

2022 Annie Awards Winners – Full List of Movies, TV Series and Video Games – Deadline

The 49th annual Annie Awards takes place on Saturday evening, with the virtual ceremony presented by ASIFA-Hollywood honoring the year’s best animated films in film, television and video games. Deadline tracks and updates winners in 36 categories in real time. Keep track below.

Going into the night, Walt Disney’s Animation Studios Raya and the last dragon and Encanto lead the nominations 10 and nine names Annie, respectively, followed by Pixar Lucas with eight. lighting Sing 2 and The Mitchells vs. the Machines, from Sony Pictures Animation for Netflix, join them in the race for the Best Feature Film category. (See the full list of nominees here.)

Last year, the eventual winner of the animated film at the Oscars Soul by Pixar was named Best Feature Film among Annie’s seven total wins. It was the 14th time in 20 years that Annies’ Best Feature winner won the Oscar.

Already tonight Encanto has a win for Germaine Franco and Lin-Manuel Miranda in the Music, Feature Film category. Netflix has early wins for Mitchell and Esoteric in production design for film and television, and character design, respectively, and for Maya and the three in Music, Television.

Among the honorary awards, Renzo & Sayoko Kinoshita, founders of the Hiroshima International Animation Festival, received the June Foray Award for Significant Benevolent or Charitable Impact. The Ub Iwerks Prize for Technical Advancement was presented to the Python Foundation, while artist and author Glen Vilppu received the Special Achievement Award recognizing the unique and significant impact on art and industry of the ‘animation.

Presenters for tonight’s ceremony, which is virtual for the second consecutive year, include Tom Kenny, Guillermo del Toro, Diane Warren, Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart, Mamoru Hosoda, Charlie Saxton, Pierre Perffiel and Lilly Singh.

Other honorary awards to be presented tonight include Ruben Aquino, Lillian Schwartz and Studio Ghibli producer Toshio Suzuki receiving the Winsor McCay Award for their professional contributions to the art of animation, while the Certificate of Merit for service to art and industry will be given to Evan Veron.

Keep checking below as the winners are announced:

Editing, functionality

The Mitchells vs. the Machines
Sony Pictures Animation for Netflix
Editorial Team: Greg Levitan, Collin Wightman, TJ Young, Tony Ferdinand, Bret Allen

Editing, television

What if…?
Episode: What If… Ultron Wins?
marvel studios
Editorial Team: Joel Fisher, Graham Fisher, Sharia Davis, Basuki Juwono, Adam Spieckermann

Animated effects, feature

The Mitchells vs. the Machines
Sony Pictures Animation for Netflix
FX Team: Christopher Logan, Man-Louk Chin, Devdatta Nerurkar, Pav Grochola, Filippo Maccari

Animated Effects, Television

Episode: Oil and Water
A Riot Games and Fortiche production for Netflix
FX team: Guillaume Degroote, Aurélien Ressencourt, Martin Touzé, Frédéric Macé, Jérôme Dupré

Character Animation, Feature Film

Walt Disney Animation Studios
Host: Dave Hardin

Character Animation, Television

Episode: The Monster You Made
A Riot Games and Fortiche production for Netflix
Host: Léa Chervet

Character Animation, Live Action

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
Marvel Entertainment, Weta Digital
Animation team: Karl Rapley, Sebastian Trujillo, Richard John Moore, Merlin Bela Wassilij Maertz, Pascal Raimbault

Character animation, video game

Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart
insomniac games
Animation Team: Insomniac Games Animation Team

Character Design, Functionality

The Mitchells vs. the Machines
Sony Pictures Animation for Netflix
Creator: Lindsey Olivares

Character Design, Television

Episode: Some Mysteries Better Not Solved
A Riot Games and Fortiche production for Netflix
Creator: Evan Monteiro

Music, feature

Walt Disney Animation Studios
Music: Germaine Franco, Lin-Manuel Miranda

Music, TV

Maya and the three
Episode: The Sun and the Moon
A Netflix series
Music: Tim Davies, Gustavo Santaolalla

Sponsored Production

A future begins
Nexus studios

Special manufacturing

Baobab Studios

Production Design, Functionality

The Mitchells vs. the Machines
Sony Pictures Animation for Netflix
Design Team: Lindsey Olivares, Toby Wilson, Dave Bleich

Production Design, Television

Episode: Happy Progress Day!
A Riot Games and Fortiche production for Netflix
Design team: Julien Georgel, Aymeric Kevin, Arnaud Baudry

short topic

Trebol 3 Productions, MALEZA Estudio

student movie

Living Dread Night
Student Director: Ida Melum
Student producer: Danielle Goff
School: National Film and Television School, UK

Special Achievement Award

Glen Vilpu

Ub Iwerks Award

Python Foundation

June Incursion Prize

Renzo and Sayoko Kinoshita