Edinboro students take fourth place in global animation competition


A team of animation students from the University of Edinburgh finished in the world’s top five in the 24 HOURS National Animation Competition, hosted by world-renowned professional animation specialists.

Leah DeJohn, Abigail Frisch, Beau Henry, TK Kratz and Luke Shay, known as The Miraculous 12 – who created “The New Normal” from the official prompt – completed their submission in a record 12 hours. hours, which was No. 1. 1 in all of the United States The team placed fourth overall out of 208 teams that competed in the competition’s 19th year.

The University of Edinburgh has sent six teams to the annual competition for 2021.

“They all did a great job and we are very proud of them,” said Brad Pattullo, professor of art, animation and filmmaking at Edinboro. “We are blown away by the achievements of the winning team. These students are the best in their class and are very talented, motivated and hardworking. They have a bright future ahead of them. ”

The 24 HOURS Animation Competition, originally created to help animation students work collectively at precise speed, meet deadlines and make creative decisions under pressure, now brings together over 1,500 students from 71 schools and 11 countries.

“The Bidoofers”, a film by Fundação Armando Alvares Penteado in Brazil, took first place in the competition with 256 points. “InkPink” from Belas Artes University in Brazil finished second with 240 points. Seneca College in Toronto finished third with “Big Jug Juggalos”, while Capilano University in Vancouver completed the top five with “Prumboltar” and 233 points.

Teams of five animation students competed for 24 hours – October 15-16 – to design, animate and publish their 30-second video. Awards were presented to the top seven winning teams by a panel of industry professionals, including Alison Mann, Co-President of Fourth Wall Animation; Ira Owens, director of photography for Sucker Punch Productions; Alan Huynh, director / screenwriter for Netflix; Grace Babineau, Founder / Color Designer for Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network; Angela Abeyti, character / prop designer for Nickelodeon; Nathan Palm, Artist / Character Creator for DreamWorks; and Ryan Stapleton, writer for 20th Century Fox Animation.

Following their arrival, the Edinboro team won a prize worth $ 12,470, which includes $ 1,000 in cash ($ 200 for each student), five premium passes for CTN Animation Expo in California – one of the largest animation conventions in the United States, five masterclass seats with Disney animator John Pomeroy, one hour session with Walt Disney Animation Recruitment and Talent Development and prizes from Toon Boom, Sony Pictures, Animation Magazine and DreamWorks.

The annual competition is free to entrants and is funded by industry sponsorships. Past sponsors include Bento Box, Toon Boom, Animation Magazine, Stuart NG Books, Netflix Animation, DreamWorks, Nickelodeon, Disney, Pixar, Sony Pictures Animation and others.

“While this competition sounds crazy, it’s a lesson in fast speed in animation production,” said Aubry Mintz, festival organizer and animation professor at Chapman University. The best films are as good as finished student films that take over a year to produce. It is a chance to set personal goals and to work outside of a classroom structure.

For more information on the 24 HOURS Animation Competition, visit the official 24 HOURS Animation Competition Facebook page.

Photo: Edinburgh University’s Miraculous 12 – Abigail Frisch, Beau Henry, Leah DeJohn, TK Kratz and Luke Shay – took fourth place in the 24 HOURS World Animation Competition this month.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.